Another Blog

Mostly about computers, generally Linux-related

Yes, it can get even more retarded

So I bought a new computer, installed Vista (legally) on in, and, after a few days of playing games, I decided to go back to Gentoo. Install went fine mostly, but then I got to the real creamy part about dual-booting Linux and Windows Vista.

Much to my surprise, and yours I am sure, M$ found yet another way of being retarded about OS design. Vista installs its bootloader *on a separate partition*, without letting you know. So, when I configured grub to boot vista off the partition I had installed it to, it was a no-go. A little googling around sorted the problem, but still… this makes you wonder, what’ll they think of next? And what’s more: is this on purpose or is someone really stupid enough to forget to specifically notify people of the change? I bet it’s the former.

Don’t get me wrong, I usually set up a separate /boot parition, but Windows Vista used the other NTFS partition, which I had created for storage. I am now seriously thinking of switching the vista bootloader to the partition on which the OS is installed, to be rid of this irregularity.

July 6, 2007 - Posted by | linux, vista

4 Comments »

  1. what is really retarded is the fact that if you go for the tripple boot shindig and install xp after vista and then suse there is no problem. Prior to this i had tried the vista and suse and had the same problem. Aero is a p.o.s compared to xgl but still requires the same video memory and not once, not twice but 4x the ram. So either microsuck gets it act together and finally rules the world eliminating all competition so at least we won’t be frustrated or strats acknowledging other o.s.

    Comment by tuborg | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. I have just finished compiling Beryl and will be trying it momentarily. Aero is distracting, just like all eye-candy. I am really reluctant towards using Beryl or even the default KDE window manager (kwin, is it?) when I want to be productive. I remain attatched to Ion3 for productivity; or Fluxbox when I need multiple windows.

    Comment by Vlad Dogaru | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. There is a tool called EasyBCD (http://neosmart.net/dl.php?id=1) which makes possible to tune and use the default Vista boot loader (BCD – Boot Configuration Data) instead of GRUB. I’ve been using it from some time, and everything worked just fine for me.

    It’s not retarded, indeed I think they’re trying to improve the boot eXPerience :P

    Comment by alecsed | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. There is a tool called EasyBCD (http://neosmart.net/dl.php?id=1) which makes possible to tune and use the default Vista boot loader (BCD – Boot Configuration Data) instead of GRUB. I’ve been using it from some time, and everything worked just fine for me.

    It’s not retarded, indeed I think they’re trying to improve the boot eXPerience… :P

    Comment by alecsef | July 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

